By Larrisa Beth Turner
So, you’re leaving the University of Utah. You’ve likely thought of the paperwork and various other things you need to do before your last day, but have you thought about what happens to your university computing accounts, data, and technology services?
After your affiliation with the U ends, your uNID will be deactivated, cutting off access to various accounts and resources like Box, Canvas, CIS, university libraries, software, and Wi-Fi. Although the time frames differ depending on your role at the university and the service, know that you have a limited period in which to secure your documents and data.
Don’t know where to start? Here are some suggestions.
We suggest you move your files to:
- A personal Box account, which is free up to 10GB
- Another cloud storage provider
- A computer hard drive or external storage device
If you are the owner of a University of Utah-related folder, you must transfer your owner access to another U employee or student.
While active students can access content from past semester-based classes in Canvas, they can only review course materials, not interact with them in any way. Content from nonsemester-based courses is available until the instructor chooses to conclude the course, at which time the material becomes read-only.
Assignment submissions — from current and concluded courses, as well as those submitted by group members — can be downloaded as long as you remain active with the university. Please note, however, that the files will not include any modifications from instructors, such as annotations.
To retrieve files after leaving the university, please contact firstname.lastname@example.org.
Students, faculty, and staff can install and use software on personally owned computers for academic purposes as long as they are actively enrolled or employed by the university.
After leaving the university, however, you must uninstall the software from your device(s) and destroy any accompanying distribution media — unless you purchased a perpetual license.
Those with a perpetual license can use the product indefinitely. But the updates, upgrades, and technical support that usually are included during the initial licensing term will no longer be available. If you want to continue to receive those features, you must purchase maintenance on the license.
If you aren't sure which type of license you purchased, you can check your receipt for the terms or visit the Office of Software Licensing web store (login required) to view product information.
Lastly, don't forget to retrieve files stored in that software product’s cloud (e.g., Office 365 and Adobe Creative Cloud). After your account is deactivated, you will not be able to access them.
Additional housekeeping items
Don't forget to check these and any other U accounts for personal files or records you might want to keep after leaving the university.
Need something from your student record? Visit the Office of the Registrar's website for more information.
Employees can contact their respective HR departments to inquire about personnel records.