You are here:

All-Hands Meeting photos and roundup

By Jesse Drake

This year's Kevin Taylor Service Award nominees, from left, Robin Horton, Jason Moeller, Shellie Eide and Adam Howsley. Eide was the winner.

From left, nominees Robin Horton, Jason Moeller,
Shellie Eide and Adam Howsley. Eide was selected
the winner of the 2016-17 Kevin Taylor Service Award.

The UIT All-Hands Meeting kicked off on Wednesday, September 28, 2016 with Chief Information Officer Steve Hess discussing UIT and campus strategic plans. He also presented a refresher on the Deloitte IT assessment, an update on IT governance, and covered top FY2017 goals across various units in the organization.

Chief Technology Officer Jim Livingston provided an update on the evolution of the IT Service Management (ITSM) Initiative, specifically ServiceNow, the enhanced cloud-based service management platform used by UIT and Information Technology Services (ITS). Deputy CIO Ken Pink discussed the ITSM project timeline. Phase one included the new platform launch; phase two involves a new iteration of UIT's Service Catalog by the end of the calendar year; and phase three, slated for 2017, will feature service automation and end-to-end process integration, among other things.

Finance Director Lisa Kuhn offered more details about the move to 102 Tower for most UIT staff this fall and winter, including parking information, moving day preparations, moving schedule, shuttle and commuting options, and a blueprint of work spaces on floors four and five.

Pink then read the names of staff members celebrating a service anniversary this year – 10 to 35 years in five-year increments. Honorees received a certificate of appreciation and the gratitude of fellow colleagues.

A series of short presentations followed. Tom Cheatham, director of the Center for High Performance Computing, presented on update on CHPC activities; Trevor Long, associate director of the Network & Core team, gave an overview of the U’s Network Connection Agreement; and Colby Gray, security assurance manager in the Information Security Office, detailed a 24/7/365 Security Operations Center that’s in the works.

Closing out the meeting’s agenda, Kevin Taylor Service Award Committee members took turns speaking about the award and nominees: Robin Horton and Adam Howsley of Service Management, and Jason Moeller and Shellie Eide of University Support Services. Hess announced the winner – Eide – who received a plaque and check for $500.

To view the presentation recording, and view the slides and meeting handout, please visit this page. Below are photos from the event.

Last Updated: 5/30/17